Posted in

Feature News

UF Health liver transplant program outcomes reach No. 1 in nation

It’s in the organ’s name — you can’t live without a liver. For patients in need of a liver transplant — whether it be from acute or chronic liver failure, cancer, or metabolic diseases — a transplant can mean the difference between life and death. Now, UF Health Shands Hospital…

UF scientist works to develop colon cancer treatments

Colon cancer may be treated or even prevented by altering microorganisms in the intestine and by combating inflammation with a clinical treatment previously used to treat inflammatory bowel diseases, according to findings from a study by lead author Ye Yang, Ph.D.,  and assistant scientist in the UF College of…

Digestive Disease Week

During Digestive Disease Week, Anglea Pham, MD, presents results of IBD study relating to the college students with IBD and their higher risk of poor transition to college life. Read more about the presentation and study findings by Dr. Pham here.

Dr. Forsmark receives Lifetime Achievement Award from APA

Dr. Christopher E. Forsmark, chief of the division of gastroenterology, hepatology and nutrition at the University of Florida, was awarded the prestigious Vay Liang & Frisca Go Lifetime Achievement Award at the 2016 Annual Meeting of the American Pancreatic Association, which was held in Boston…

UF Health designated as one of 28 NPF centers for pancreatic cancer

Congratulations to Dr. Forsmark and his pancreas diseases team – the National Pancreas Foundation (NPF), a nonprofit organization that provides hope for those suffering from pancreatitis and pancreatic cancer, announced the designation of twenty-eight additional National Pancreas Foundation Centers for the treatment and care of patients with pancreatic cancer.

DoM Excellence in Teaching Awards 2016 – GI/Hepatology Winners

This year the department of medicine honored a number of outstanding teachers for the 2016 DoM Excellence in Teaching Awards. Our division had seven physicians who were honored and recognized for their dedication to teaching our students – future physicians and scientists. Congratulations!  …