Christian Jobin, PhD

Christian Jobin, PhD
Professor of Medicine
Principal Investigator











BSc Laval University Microbiology
PhD Laval University Immunology-Microbiology

PhD Thesis – Immunoregulatory mechanisms of chronic inflammation in Arthritis.


Research and Professional Experience

  • 1993- Dec 1997 • Postdoctoral Res. Fellowship: Regulation of immunosuppressive molecules in IBD
  • Jan 1998-2004 • Research Assistant Professor, UNC, Dept. Medicine
  • Jan 2004-2007 • Assistant Professor (tenure-track), UNC, Dept. Medicine
  • July 2007-2013 • Associate Professor (tenure), UNC, Dept. Medicine
  • July 2007-2013 • Associate Professor (tenure), UNC, Dept. Pharmacology
  • Sept 2010-2013 • Associate Professor (tenure), UNC, Dept. Microbiology and Immunology
  • July 2013-2015 • Professor, UF, Dept. Medicine
  • July 2013 • Professor, UF, Dept. Infectious Diseases & Pathology
  • July 2015 • Gatorade Trust Professor of Medicine
  • July 2015 • Leader Microbiota Cancer Host Response research program for UF Health Cancer Center
  • June 2016 • Professor, Dept. of Anatomy & Cell Biology

Awards and Fellowships

  • Hôpital Saint-François d’Assise Ph.D fellowship, 1990-1991
  • Laval University Ph.D fellowships, 1991-1993
  • CCFA young investigator travel award to attend “Interactions between genetics and microbiology in inflammatory bowel disease” meeting in South Carolina; March 1995
  • CCFA young investigator travel award to attend “Immune/non-immune cell interaction in intestinal inflammation” meeting in Florida; Sept 1996
  • CCFA Career Development Award 1998-1999 “Regulation and modulation of the IkB/NF-kB transcriptional system in intestinal epithelial cells”
  • CCFA Young IBD investigator award, 1998
  • University Research Council Award, 1998
  • Mucosal Immunology Young investigator travel award, 1999
  • Anne Ferguson Award 1999 (Mucosal Immunology Society)
  • University Research Council Award, 2004
  • UNC Junior Faculty Development Award, 2005
  • American Gastroenterological Association Fireman Young Scientist Basic Research Award, 2005
  • UF Senior Faculty Excellence in Research Award, 2015

Study Section Memberships-advisory Board

  • CCFA Study section (Fellowship and Career Awards) (2008-2011)
  • Canadian Institutes of Health Research.  Experimental Medicine (2003-2007)
  • Canadian Institutes of Health Research. Vanier Canada Graduate Scholarships (2010-2013)
  • UNC Biological and Biomedical Sciences Program admission committee. (2009-2012)
  • NIH Tumor Microenvironment (TME) Study Section: (2007-present) Ad Hoc
  • NIH Gastrointestinal Mucosal Pathobiology (GMBP) (2011-present) Ad Hoc
  • NIH Special Emphasis Panel NIDDK (2002-present)
  • NIH NCI Chair ZRG1 DKUS-D: Role of the Microflora in the Etiology of Gastrointestinal Cancer (2013-present)
  • NIH NIAID Chair ZAI1 LG-M (J1) U19: Novel, Alternate Model Systems for Enteric Diseases
  • NIH GMPB (2015- present) permanent member
  • CIHR Institute Advisory Board of Infection and Immunity (2014-2016)
  • AICR (2014-2015)
  • American Society for Cancer (2014-2015)
  • Terry Fox Research Institute (2017): Chair study section for Program Project Grant exploring the metabolic, epigenetic and microbiome drivers of inflammation driven malignancy

Editorial Board Member

  • American Journal of Physiology: (2001-2009)
  • Gastroenterology: (2005-2010)
  • IBD: Section Editor: Cell Biology/Biochemistry/Molecular Biology (2007-2008)
  • IBD: Associate Editor: Cell Biology/Biochemistry/Molecular Biology (2008-2016)
  • Microbiome: Associate Editor (2017-present)